bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

Me and the Mahatma.

Posted by Big John on March 27, 2008

My friend .. ‘Longrider’ .. recently published his result after taking the ‘Political Compass’ .. test ..  so I thought that I would have a go.

Now I don’t usually take these sort of things too seriously as very often the questions are posed in such a way that a simple ‘agree’ or ‘disagree’ cannot express one’s true opinion on some subjects.

Anyway here is the result of my test after answering six pages of questions  …

pol-graph.png

… Well how about that ?

So, would you have guessed from some of my rants and comments that this grumpy old git would find himself in such company as Gandhi, Mandela and The Dalai Lama ? …

Now that’s what I call ‘a result’ :-D

7 Responses to “Me and the Mahatma.”

  1. An interesting point, of course, is that whatever their politics, Gandhi believed and the Dalai Lama believes things that are very peculiar indeed. If your neighbour were to evince the same sort of spiritual opinions as these two, most people would dismiss him as a nutter.

    Gandhi, of course, did a lot of good, especially in fields of conflict resolution, though his career as a professional politician was somewhat more chequered. As for the Dalai Lama, well, I don’t really know how to evaluate him. Would the world really be that much poorer if he didn’t exist? Ungenerous as it might sound, I cannot find much reason to think it would. Come to think of it, I could say the same of the Archdruid of Canterbury.

    As you rightly say, these opinion tests are of dubious value because they offer too coarse a filter but they can be fun as long as we don’t take them too seriously.

  2. Ginnie said

    Well, for what it’s worth my dot showed up directly under the “g” of Big John (on your graph)…so I can see why we seem to see eye to eye, John.

  3. Betty said

    As you can probably guess, I turned up just to the left of Gandhi. I seem to belie the theory that the older one gets, the more conservative one becomes. lol

  4. Chris said

    Hmm. I started the test, but bailed out halfway through when it dawned on me that it’s all a clever ploy by HM spooks to find out, via the medium of a ‘just for fun’ online test (admit it, you’d never have filled it out if they’d called it a survey, would you?), who has extreme views that could be a threat to national security etc etc. Your IP is, of course, logged as soon as you arrive at the site. Basically, if ‘they’ didn’t know who you were before, they do now. Here’s a tip: go back, redo the test, and give contradictory answers all the way through and they’ll be tearing their hair out trying to make sense of it all when they collate the answers.

    Of course, I could just be slightly paranoid :)

  5. Terri said

    Very interesting, but I wasn’t surprised at all to find myself just about where you were on the graph. Very liberal here and proud of it….no changing me now….lol

  6. Red Baron said

    Ah the political compass I remember it in the old days of the BC blog, I did it twice 2 years apart and the only thing that changed was that I became -0.4 more libertarian. I think you can probably imagine where I came -9.x and -8.x, I was quite proud of myself! Suffice to say there are no famous people cited in my zone, presumably because there would have to be a witchhunt for them!

  7. [...] I was becoming a little more authoritarian if not any less economically left.  Both Longrider and Big John have done the compass this month so it prompted me to do it again.  And I’ve barely moved, [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

