bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

Happy Easter !

Posted by Big John on March 22, 2008

“Spring is sprung.
The grass is riz. 
I wonder where the birdies is ?”

I suspect that they are freezing their little ‘nuts’ off, as there is a gale blowing from the Arctic on to the North Kent coast, snow is forecast, Sainsbury’s is stacked to the ceiling with chocolate eggs, it’s 50% off day at every retail park, ‘Ben Hur’ is on TV again, and most public transport is at a stand-still … so …

It must be Easter !

Now it wouldn’t be Easter without some religious controversy would it ? … and this year is no exception with the usual heated debates about … stores being open for business … gambling … the sale of alcohol … and, of course, hot cross buns offending some religious minority. :-D

I’ve been watching the BBC/HBO production of ‘The Passion’ and believe it to be one of the best and most realistic portrayals of the last days of Jesus ever depicted on the screen.

However it has upset religious traditionalists by portraying Judas Iscariot and Pontius Pilate in a sympathetic light, and does not show the usual ‘image’ of Christ on the cross, but instead, shows a method of crucifixion based on evidence found in the grave of a victim of this terrible form of execution.

Whenever I see the traditional ‘Catholic’ crucifix I am reminded of the two old dears visiting a shop full of tatty Christian souvenirs …

“Ooh, look at all those crosses, Ada. They’ve even got a little man on some of them”.

There has never been a more powerful symbol than the cross, although the swastika came pretty close, but I can’t help wondering what people would be wearing around their necks if the Romans had  …

…    invented the electric chair ?   :???:  

4 Responses to “Happy Easter !”

  1. Betty said

    Great post, John. And, Happy Easter to you and your wife.

  2. Oscarandre said

    or the guillotine… :-)

  3. or the gallows.

    JWL

  4. Maria said

    Loved your post. It seems in today’s politically correct world, one has to tred softly, very softly. I for one, like your attitude and hope your Easter was a Happy one.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

