bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

Do you get a ‘no claims bonus’ ?

Posted by Big John on March 20, 2008

Everyone has the right to believe whatever they want to when it comes to religion, but it has always seemed to me that many people look on religion as some sort of insurance policy; and now it looks like I was right, as a study presented at the Royal Economic Society’s annual conference in Coventry makes just this point when it says that people with such a “policy” are likely to be happier than atheists and agnostics, as religion acts as a type of “insurance” against personal disaster.

Now I always thought that people looked at it as more of a ‘life’, or should I say ‘afterlife’ policy rather than personal ‘emergency’ or ‘accident’ cover. 

In other words people pay the ‘premium’ of going through all the rituals and mumbling the right words every so often, in the hope that, maybe, they will be able to cash in their ‘policy’ if or when they reach the ‘Pearly Gates’.

Umm! … That’s a pretty big ‘maybe’, and nothing to feel too happy about.    

It’s a bit like insuring your baggage when you book a flight and getting that uneasy feeling that you might never see it again as you approach the check-in desk. Do you feel happy then ?  … I doubt it ! :-( 

So how does ‘going through the motions’ of religion in the hope of covering your arse on Judgment Day make you a happier person ?

It beats an old athiest like me, for I’m very happy to be unburdened with superstitious and supernatural beliefs, and I’ve never trusted bloody insurance companies, so I’m comforted with the thought that on the day when they screw down the lid, and I’m ‘all dressed up with nowhere to go’ I won’t have to bother   …

…    to check the ‘small print’.  :-D

3 Responses to “Do you get a ‘no claims bonus’ ?”

  1. I agree with you. I am suspicious about surveys like this. Tigger works for a company that does market research and I have had some glimpses into how rigorously questionnaires etc. have to be designed in order to get valid responses.

    Believers know that they are supposed to be happy with their beliefs and will therefore tend to say that they are, whereas some belief systems are so stern that it is hard to believe that people who subscribe to them could possibly feel happy.

    How do you measure “happiness”?

  2. Maria said

    I suppose I could be called an agnostic which in my opinion, just means I am hedging my bet. Personally, I don’t belong to any organized religion. I find them full of pumped-up power people and pompous rules. On days when I feel my spiritual needs, I find comfort in quiet moments while walking thru the desert or hiking in the mountains. There is also a beautiful little chapel at our local Catholic Church. It is always open, quiet, and a wonderful place to meditate or simply sit quietly with my own thoughts. . . guess that is meditating, too.

    If there is a God and he gave me a brain to think then I believe he will be happy that I used it to find my own way to spiritual fulfillment

  3. Ginnie said

    What always amazes me, John, are the pretty intelligent people that I know who are literally afraid not to do the requisite mumble jumbles of their respective religions…in fear of the “great unknown”. I think it much better to concentrate on doing the best you can while you’re still living … and let the chips fall as they will afterwards.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

