bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

A flight to remember.

Posted by Big John on February 26, 2008

I was reminded of the very first time that I flew in an aeroplane, when I read recently that the last two Dakota (DC3) aircraft still in service in this country are to be grounded by EU health and safety regulations.

Now I have to disappoint those of you who are expecting this post to be about some daring exploit undertaken during my time in the R.A.F. because although I spent two years in the airforce I never once flew in an aeroplane, in fact I never even got to see one on the ground.

I married the old ‘trouble and strife’ in the summer of 1961, and after a brief honeymoon staying in a small hotel boarding house in a wet and windy Bournemouth we decided to save up for a ‘proper’ holiday the following year.

Yes … In the words of the song … “We were off to sunny Spain” … with, what was then, British European Airways, in one of their latest ‘Vanguard’ turboprop airliners … Or so we thought !

This was the first flight for both of us, and although a bit nervous we were looking forward to the experience, which at that time still had an air of glamour and luxury about it: and so we were dressed accordingly in our ‘Sunday best’ when we checked-in at the West London Air Terminal for the night flight to Barcelona.

When we arrived at Heathrow airport we were advised that our plane was delayed elsewhere and that we would be flying in a replacement aircraft.

I first caught sight of this ‘replacement’ as we walked across the tarmac towards the boarding point, and was immediatly reminded of the ‘Berlin Airlift’ and ‘The Paras’ dropping over ‘Arnhem’.

We climbed the short flight of steps into the DC 3 and were ‘squeezed’ into a pair of rear facing seats. We were each given a pillow and a blanket, but no parachute. Instead we were offered barley sugar (candy) as the stewardess muttered something about … “for your ears”.

My ears were the last things I was worried about, when a couple of hours or so later this noisey old crate was bucking and rattling it’s way over (or was it through) the Pyrenees. I looked between the ‘fingers’ of ice on the window at the vibrating oil streaked wings and the snow capped peaks illuminated by the continuous lightning, which my wife claims until this day she could see flashing through the pillow which she had over her face and the blanket which covered her head.

I have flown in many types of aircraft and have made hundreds of flights since that night in 1962; and a few have been a bit ‘hairy’ to say the least, but none could compare with that first time in that old Dakota.

As we came in to land hailstones rattled on the fuselage like machine gun fire, and I was never more thankful to have my feet on ‘terra firma’ than when I stepped off that plane into the heat of a stormy Mediterranean night wearing my crumpled ‘Sunday best’ suit. I pulled off my tie and shoved it into my brand new BEA flight bag.

I had survived .. I walked away .. I was unharmed .. I had not used a sick bag .. and .. It had not been necessary to  ..

…    stick the barley sugar in my ears.  :-D

4 Responses to “A flight to remember.”

  1. Those were the days, eh? You could fly wherever your fancy took you (assuming you could afford the air fare) with nary a twinge of guilt about polluting the earth and contributing to global warming.

    I remember my first flight. My young son was with me. We checked in at Victoria and had time to spare so we had a look around the museum. In one of the cases was a little table with a boiled sweet in its wrapper upon it. “Why is that there?” asked my son.

    I explained that in the old days, they gave you a sweet to suck to stop your ears popping. I assured him that with pressurized cabins this was no longer necessary.

    When we boarded the plane, what was the first thing they did? They came along and gave us all a boiled sweet each! The look on my son’s face was a picture!

    The plane was a little Fokker Friendship and it flew us to France low enough to see the houses with their swimming baths in the gardens. I am not sure whether any of these planes are still used.

  2. Betty said

    One of my first flights was in an “air taxi” from Atlanta to Albany, Georgia. It held about 14 passengers, and the “door” between us and the pilots was a canvas flap. It was storming and, at one point we heard the radio squawking, urging us to “miss the tornado.” When we got on the ground, I swore I was riding the bus back to Atlanta when the time came.

  3. Red Baron said

    Daily Mail though fella, slapped wrists, I started to burn immediately I came to the page, like light to a vampire! I was surprised they didn’t say that it was stopping due to immigrants!

    DC-10 was the first plane I flew on, British Caledonian, and they still gave you barley sugars back then in 1977.

    Sorry if I gave you a ‘Richard Littlejohn moment’ Baron. The Daily Mein Kampf was the only ‘on line’ report worth reading. :-)

  4. Ferouzeh said

    I shall add my memory to the “obituary” but let’s not forget that the DC3 is still flying in happy less PC countries to their heart’s content.
    I flew in a DC3 from Axum to Asmara in 1968 – we travelled with a goat and a few chickens as it was normal in Africa.
    In January 1967 instead I travelled from Johannesburg to Zurich in a BALAIR DC6. It took 28 hours. ( and four weeks after all the way back)
    We stopped in Kinshasa for a silver service Lunch and in Tripoli (Lybia ) in the evening
    Yes that was still travelling : one could see where one was going. I have travelled all over the world since and never enjoyed it as I did those two flights. I still remember them after forty years.
    Feruz

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

