bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 54 other followers

Close encounters of the ‘phone kind.

Posted by Big John on February 20, 2008

The lady who lives across the street from me is soon to have one of her hips replaced, and so, being the ‘good Samaritan’ that I am :roll: I volunteered to drive her to the hospital for her pre-operation check-up.

I dropped her at the hospital which is about a fortyfive minute drive from my home and went off to have some breakfast at a nearby supermarket, thus avoiding the queue and the ridiculous parking charges at the hospital car park.

 “Call me on my mobile (cell) when you are ready to go home” I told her “and I’ll be back to pick you up in a couple of minutes”.

Just before we left the hospital I made a quick call to my wife to let her know that I would be in for lunch; and on the journey home my neighbour and I discussed mobile phones and agreed how useful they are in this sort of situation, but wondered what on earth all those people found to talk about who seem to spend all day meandering about in a ‘trance’ with one ‘glued’ to their ear.

Well this morning I ran into two such ‘zombies’ or rather they ‘ran’ into me !

Now I know that it was a bit foggy this morning, but not foggy enough for someone to step off the pavement (sidewalk) and wander straight into the beam of my headlights. Luckily my vehicle was only moving at a ‘snails pace’ as I approached a set of traffic lights. I pulled to the right as the idiot ‘brushed’ along the left side of my car, never giving me a glance as he continued on his way engrossed in what could have been his last conversation.

My next encounter was less dramatic and took place in my ‘favourite’ Sainsbury’s supermarket, where from behind a mountain of Easter Eggs (Yes, only five weeks to go) a young man appeared, trolley (cart) in one hand and phone in the other. He was weaving about at some speed, with one eye on a screaming brat in the trolley’s baby seat, while the other looked vacantly at the aisle signs above his head. He crashed his trolley into mine, but did not seem to notice me as he careered on down the aisle, with his phone still ‘clamped’ to the side of his head.

I wonder if he was receiving instructions in how to navigate around the store ?  … “Turn right at the baked beans. Now left at the breakfast cereals, straight on at the toilet rolls … and don’t forget to watch out for any silly old git who might…

…     get in your bleedin’ way”. :-D      

3 Responses to “Close encounters of the ‘phone kind.”

  1. I have a mobile. I love it. It goes everywhere with me. It has spreadsheets and documents so I keep my accounts on it, my shopping lists and even sometimes write my blog on it. Its calendar reminds me of appointments and wakes me up in the morning (it knows not to do so over the weekend).

    I even make and receive phone calls on it.

    When making phone calls, I always try to find a quiet corner to stand where I am not in the way and where noise levels are tolerable. On the other hand, I accept that the mobile has become an essential tool for many people. It may be annoying to sit on the train near a businessman who makes a series of business calls but what else is he supposed to do? That’s how it works these days.

    That is no excuse, though, for causing danger to oneself and others. Never mind fining people who use a mobile while driving: I’d remove their licence for life and give them a stiff jail term. A policeman we know is accustomed to dragging bits of bodies from cars wrecked in accidents caused by drivers using their mobiles.

    In crowded London, people don’t need a mobile to crash into you, but it helps.

  2. Ginnie said

    These darn cell phones. They are such a boon when used properly but, I agree, who can have that much to say?
    When my friend Douglas and I were in Italy we noticed that they were everywhere. The men seemed to use them the most in the restaurants. Douglas was sure they were “calling Mama to see what to order”.

  3. Oscarandre said

    I have a mobile for work and that is it, I’m afraid. Why anyone, other than teenagers, could find them indispensible I couldn’t say. And as for those poor buggers in the supermarket trying to get the right brand/quantity/priced items to placate “her indoors”? Just too sad for words.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

