bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 48 other followers

A present from ‘the past’.

Posted by Big John on February 11, 2008

Today is my 69th birthday, so it’s only one more to go before the old ‘three score years and ten’, although for the past few days I have been feeling more like a hundred and ten, as I’ve been limping about like ‘Long John Silver’ with a pain in my right hip.

Now I read somewhere that ‘laughter is the best medicine’ and also that it triggers the release of endomorphins, the body’s natural painkillers.

Well it’s a bloody lie, because I’m still suffering, although this morning I nearly fell off my chair laughing when I opened a birthday present from my daughter and saw what at first I took to be an old copy of a genuine police manual …

mars-006.jpg

That is until I saw the name of the author … Detective Chief Inspector Gene Hunt !

Now the name will not be familiar to you unless you are a fan of the TV show ‘Life on Mars’ (on BBC America) about a present day policeman who finds himself in the very un-politically correct time of .. “you’re nicked sunshine” .. and .. “eat the wall scumbag” ..  world of 1974 ‘good cop bad cop’ Gene Hunt. 

Now I know that most people stagger back from the pub, but I’m going to stagger down to the pub for a birthday lunch with my wife, before settling down for a lesson from Gene Hunt on ‘interrogating suspects’, and the almost forgotten  ‘thief takers’ art of …

…      ‘getting them to talk (Physical)’.  :-)

11 Responses to “A present from ‘the past’.”

  1. Life on Mars was one of the more intriguing TV series (we watched it on DVD), a genuine one-off. I don’t know how Ashes to Ashes will shape up.

    As for your birthday, many happy returns and I hope you have fun. If you can’t have fun on your birthday, when can you? That’s why I consider every day my birthday ;)

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: age is just a number. It’s funny how children and the elderly are proud of their age and keep telling you what it is while the middle-aged treat it as a state secret.

    I hope the book is as amusing as the character it is based on and as you wouldn’t want me to go all Dorothy, I’ll leave it at that ;)

  2. Betty said

    Happy Birthday, and many more. Hope you have a fine day.

  3. frisby said

    Happy birthday to the best dad in the world!
    x
    your beautiful, talented and modest daughter ;)

  4. Ferouzeh said

    Happy birthday dear john
    Feruz

  5. Happy Birthday!!!
    From the old guy in Canada (I’ll be 72 next birthday)

    JWL

  6. Pimme said

    Happy Birthday, John! SilverTiger is right–you just don’t hear middle-aged people proudly saying, “I’m 45 and a HALF”! ;^)

  7. Oscarandre said

    Well done, John – and many more to come!

  8. Norman said

    Well done John.!If you’re going to “stagger down to the pub”, make sure you stagger back home, make it a Big one. All the best.Norman.

  9. gawilli said

    Happy Birthday, John!

  10. Big John said

    Many thanks for the birthday greetings everybody.

    Next year all cheques will be welcome :-)

  11. Terri said

    Please forgive me for arriving late with your birthday greetings! I’m hoping your day was very special for you.
    I’m not familiar with the character,but it sounds like your daughter chose the perfect gift for you. Keep enjoying and keep laughing!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

