bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • December 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

I wonder if Santa has one ?

Posted by Big John on December 14, 2007

I am always amused at this time of year by the number of newspaper advertisements for ‘white goods’.

Do husbands really buy their wives washing machines for Christmas ?… and do husbands wake up on Christmas morning to find a refrigerator under the tree.

Amongst all the ‘must have’ things and unwanted ‘gizmos’ that the electrical retailers seem to be ‘pushing’ this year, ‘Sat Navs’ seem to be very much to the fore.

I wonder how many people really need to be guided to their destination from outer space ? I used to drive around 40,000 miles a year, and a map and a pencil and paper was all that I needed to find my way around the country.

The news is always full of ‘horror’ stories of juggernauts stuck up country lanes and old ladies driving into rivers because they followed their GPS machine’s instructions; so it would appear that ‘sat navs’ are just as good at getting you lost or into danger as they are at getting you to the last place in the motorway traffic jam.

I must admit that I have never used one of these navigation devices and have no desire to do so, for I may be wrong, but to me, using one when on the move seems to be just as dangerous as using a mobile phone when at the wheel, and this practice is quite rightly banned.

Let’s hope that ‘she who must be obeyed’ isn’t planning to put one in my stocking this year, because …

I would much prefer a dishwasher.  :-)

5 Responses to “I wonder if Santa has one ?”

  1. Betty said

    The only time I ever relied on a GPS machine, it took us 45 minutes to reach our destination, and it should have taken 10. So much for that!

  2. gawilli said

    I don’t know about washing machines, but Willi got a snowblower. He’s pretty satisfied just to leave it in the garage, though. Thank heavens.

    Can’t comment on a GPS. I’ve never even been in a car that had one. Like you, we do pretty good with a map.

  3. Lucy said

    I’m giving my husband a GPS for Christmas. He thinks it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread. He’s “geographically challenged.” We have used it once. I was driving; he was watching the little screen. When the programmed the trip from our home to our destination, it took us a few miles out of our way. When he programmed it for the return trip, it took us the most direct route.

    You don’t have to watch the screen; it talks to you. I wanted to make a wrong turn to see if the voice would call me a dolt.

  4. Ginnie said

    I don’t even own a dishwasher and my kids think I still live in the dark ages. A GPS is the last thing I’d need or use…but my daughter and son-in-law (who have an antique business and are on the road constantly searching for “out of the way” places) find it invaluable.
    So, to each his/her own, I guess, John.

  5. Terri said

    I really had to chuckle, because my husband always says, “WHO would buy their wife a new washing machine for Christmas?” lol So as you can see, that stuff is not on his shopping list for me.
    I really get a kick out of the commercials where the wife opens the front door Xmas morning AND lo and BEHOLD…..hubby bought her a brand new car! Now, we all get one of those, right? Advertising!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

