bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • October 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

Sorry, but here I go again !

Posted by Big John on October 21, 2007

Last week it was a crack in the floor, and now we have a plank of wood laying on another floor, which comes complete with a gallery curator to explain to us what it’s all about …

… “The act of having to physically lift your leg to cross it announces that you are going into a different space. Entering the space may promise a revelation or enlightenment”. 

The plank, called ‘Untitled Threshold Sculpture’ is the so called ‘work’ of Nathan Coley, and according to curator, Simon Groom … “could have its artistic roots traced back to Rodin”.

Yes, you’ve guessed it ! … It’s time once again for ‘The Turner Prize’, and of course this 6ft x 6inch lump of timber has been ‘shortlisted’.

Another one on the shortlist is entitled … ‘Amnesiac Shrine’, or ‘The Misplacement (a Futurological Fable): Mirrored Cubes – Inverted - With the Reflection of an Inner Psyche as Represented by a Metaphorical Landscape’… In other words bits of driftwood and old traffic cones. 

The favourite to win the prize is a video of a bloke wearing a bear suit wandering around an empty art gallery in Berlin. The exhibition catalogue waffles on about… “the artist’s interest in the idea of transmutation by exploring the mechanics that underpin Berlin’s civic symbolism” … but what cracked me up was the comment from Simon Groom who said … 

“I am sure that Michelangelo would love it and say that it was a work of genius.” … and that somehow it … “was in the tradition of Michelangelo painting the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel or Caravaggio throwing light into great churches”.

Rodin ! … Michelangelo ! … Caravaggio !

Perhaps I’ll create a montage of men’s naughty bits copied from famous works of art such as Michelangelo’s ‘David’ and Leonardo da Vinci’s ‘Vitruvian Man’. I could enter it for next year’s competition with a title summing up the whole bloody exhibition …

…    ‘A load of old bollocks’.  

4 Responses to “Sorry, but here I go again !”

  1. Chris said

    Aw, you’re just trying to get yourself on BBC’s ironically-named ‘Culture Show’, aren’t you?

  2. gawilli said

    Once again I realize that you have the same crap over there that we have over here.

  3. Ginnie said

    ‘A load of old bollocks’. ??? By golly…that montage could be a big time winner for you, John. Go for it.

  4. Love the art speak that goes with it. If there ever is anything called white noise this is it. As we used to say, “One, two,
    balls to you! ha ha
    JWL

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

