bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • September 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

A perception of poverty.

Posted by Big John on September 22, 2007

I recently read a report that stated that many children today consider it a sign of poverty for another child not to have a mobile phone.

Unlike most of today’s children many working class people of my generation will have seen or experienced real child poverty, so I suppose that we must consider it progress when the lack of a mobile phone is seen as a sign of ‘poverty’, and not the sight of young legs deformed by rickets: but I can’t help wondering from where do these children acquire such values ?

I suppose that it would come as quite a shock to these kids to know that when I was a child there were no cell phones and the nearest public telephone was on the counter of our local off-licence (liquor store) two streets from my home.

The telephone in question was one of those ‘stand’ types with a separate earpiece at the end of a cord. I can’t remember where the nearest red public phone box was in relation to my home, and in any case I wouldn’t have spent my few pennies of pocket money or wasted my time on making phone calls; unlike the kids I see everyday with their ‘Nokia’ pressed against their ear as they chatter on about such important matters as their latest video game or favourite ‘gangsta’ rapper.

At that time no one I knew had a telephone, and I can’t even remember using one until I started work in 1955 at the age of sixteen.

No cell phone, no ‘iPod’, no TV, no ‘X box’ ! … What would today’s youngsters have made of my childhood ? I suppose they would consider me to have been destitute; but at least I was safe from  …

…  being mugged on my way home from school.

4 Responses to “A perception of poverty.”

  1. ade said

    Ah, but they would have duffed you up for your marbles instead.

  2. gawilli said

    I think we had a pretty good childhood, and probably they would do all right with it…if they didn’t have what they have now. We had a phone, and so did the neighbors. We only had to dial 4 numbers instead of the 7 to 10 we dial now. And it was a party line. Very interesting.

  3. Terri said

    I’m wondering right along with you where the values for kids today are at.
    I recently heard a 10 year old got a cell phone. I mean come ON….that’s insane.
    We had a phone with a party line and of course nothing like the kids today have. But I still say…give me the old days. When life was much simpler.

  4. Red Baron said

    It wasn’t that long ago that not having a phone in the house was still pretty normal. I remember in the mid-80s still collecting 5p pieces and going to the phone box to make a call, first obviously having to wait for the person in front to finish their conversation which would take on average 15 mins.

    The reason children are endowed with such ideals is because materialism and comparison is so rife that even parents who do not approve, do not want to force their children to be the butt of ridicule on account of their (the parents) ideology and that is a very persuasive agument if you only think in the short-term.

    My children are unlucky, I am a dogmatic bastard and will not be bowed by latent consumerism. They will thereofre face mockery and ridicule at school and grow up to be well-rounded human beings with a sense of reality!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

