bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • September 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

“à bientôt”. Part II

Posted by Big John on September 17, 2007

There are two things that I dislike about the French. One is that they let their dogs shit anywhere, and the other is that they are bloody awful at parking their cars: which means that you have to be careful to keep one eye on the ground when window shopping, and never think that it will be easy to retrieve your car from where you last left it.

Now I didn’t noticeparking-l-t.jpg many ‘doggy-doo’ bins on my recent trip across the channel, but I did notice something new to me in the way of parking meters: a ‘robot’ (left) which knows when you have parked and also knows when it is time for you to leave. Unfortunately I don’t think anyone has explained to the French what they are, but their dogs find them very handy when they cock their hind legs.

On the whole I like the French people, and find most of them friendly, polite and helpful; but perhaps that is because I do try to speak to them in their own language. I have to explain that .. “Je parle francais comme une vache espagnole” … but they seem to appreciate the effort. I can honestly say that during last week I was the only British (or American) person I heard utter a single word of French. Blimey! it doesn’t take much to learn the words for ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ !

The other evening my wife and I sat in a café surrounded by very well behaved young Frenchmen. She remarked on the fact that you rarely see a French person drunk and that there would not be the same relaxed atmosphere in an English pub full of young Brits.

Later that evening (after a splendid dinner) we were walking back to our apartment along a deserted street, when ahead of us I caught sight of two men ‘holding up’ a lamppost. I told my wife that she was about to see a couple of those rare French ‘piss artists’ that she had mentioned earlier in the evening… “I bet they’re English” … she said, and … bugger me ! …

…   she was right !  

2 Responses to ““à bientôt”. Part II”

  1. Ginnie said

    Welcome back, John. Your special brand of humor was missed,… by me, anyway!
    I found that same thing while traveling in Italy….it was my dear fellow Americans who made me cringe.
    (Must be a rub-off from George Dubya)

  2. Terri said

    Sounds like you had a nice time in France.
    I totally agree with you on both the language or at least trying and also that I can’t ever recall seeing anybody drunk and out of control in a French restaurant.
    What I really love there (in addition to the food, the wine and a million other things) is the quiet in the restaurants. No yelling, talking so loud I can barely hear the person I’m with, etc.
    Ah yes…..2 weeks from today and I’ll be back in my beloved Paris!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

