bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • July 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

Would you ‘Adam ‘n’ Eve’ it ?

Posted by Big John on July 24, 2007

figs-011.jpgIt’s hardly the Garden of Eden, but I’ve just been picking large figs from a tree in my back yard.

Over the years I have planted a number of shrubs and other plants in my garden, but never a fig tree. This one just grew out of the middle of the hedge between my garden and that of my neighbour.

This year it has grown to about 12ft tall and has born ripe fruit. In the past it only produced small hard green ‘berries’.

figs-002.jpg

I don’t know how common fig trees are in this country, but according to Wikipedia they are… ‘native to southwest Asia and the eastern Mediterranean region (Greece east to Afghanistan)’.

I would have thought that figs needed plenty of sunshine to ripen, not the ‘monsoon’ weather we’ve been experiencing this summer, which would be better suited to growing rice.

Perhaps, like everything else at the moment, it’s all due to climate change, so maybe I should think about planting a tree to offset my ‘carbon footprint’ (whatever that is) or my frequent methane emissions.

If I do, I wonder how long it will be before … 

… a coconut lands on my head ?

7 Responses to “Would you ‘Adam ‘n’ Eve’ it ?”

  1. Ginnie said

    Hi John: My son has three large fig trees and they bear lots of fruit. I never know what to do with them. Are you going to dry yours or just eat as is, etc?
    He doesn’t like them but I notice that the ripe ones are very pricey at the stores.

  2. Jackshian said

    I hear there’s a big market for growing poppies at the moment John
    or the old favourite ‘dried mature inflorescences cannabis sativa’

    Your paddy field idea sounds about right at the moment though!

  3. Betty said

    Interesting photo. I’ve never tasted a fig, but I’ve been known to say, “I don’t give a fig” about something.

    I hope you’re not treading water. After reading about all the flooding, I’ve been thinking about my British Blogfriends.

  4. gawilli said

    Wonder what fresh figs taste like. You will have to let us know. I am fond of dried figs and we recently bought some fig preserves that are excellent on toast.

  5. Ferouzeh said

    Fresh figs are delicious with Parma Ham
    Feruz

  6. Big John said

    Not sure how to dry them Ginnie, so I’m eating them as fast as I can.

    My Akismet has certainly taken a dislike to you Jack. I planted some ‘weed’, but the birds kept eating the seeds. Stoned sparrows are very interesting to watch. ;-)

    Luckily Kent has avoided the flooding so far Betty, but plenty of rain, and hailstones the size of golf balls.

    They taste very sweet Gawilli, with a ‘hint’ of strawberry.

    I like the sound of that Feruz, as I love Parma Ham.

    Perhaps I should explain that ‘Adam ‘n’ Eve’ is Cockney rhyming slang for ‘believe’. :-)

  7. Red Baron said

    My apologies, I had to do it, what other options did I have. And besides you write more often than I so you could consider yourself a victim of your own success!!!

    Sorry fella, you’re tagged!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

