bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • July 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

A mini-‘log’.

Posted by Big John on July 22, 2007

My mind is a fog.
I don’t know what to blog.
At times it’s a slog.
It’s no ‘fall off a log’.
I could go for a jog,
 be chased by a dog,
and because of the smog,
run into a bog,
meet a one legged frog,
who asks for a snog,
and turns into King Zog,
wearing only one clog,
who then starts to flog,
an Albanian hog.
Must have been at the grog.
Brain shifts up a cog.
Still all agog,
and …

…  no clue what to blog.

(bigjohn 2007)  

 

4 Responses to “A mini-‘log’.”

  1. Chris said

    Get back under the duvet with the very high tog,
    And write us a post about Noggin the Nog.

  2. Betty said

    Awwww, we know you’re just taking time out to read Harry Potter.

  3. Oscarandre said

    Well, John, I haven’t heard a rhyme stretched that far since “Eve of Destruction” – If you remember the verse that starts as “My blood’s so mad feels like coagulatin’/I’m sittin’ here just contemplatin’/I can’t twist the truth, it knows no regulation/…” and on and on to include unlikely relationships between legislation, integration, disintegratin’ and, of course, frustratin’. And all to about 4 chords!

  4. Big John said

    Sorry Chris I’m an old fashioned sheets and blankets man.

    Betty – I would sooner read Chris’s ‘Noggin the Nog’ than bloody Harry Potter .

    I would have included ‘golliwog’ Oscarandre, but I didn’t fancy having my door kicked in by the police.

    ………. :-)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

