bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Thetan Tom’s Taboo.

Posted by Big John on June 28, 2007

As an atheist I have often stated that I believe in the right of other people to believe whatever they like when it comes to religion, so long as they do no harm to others and don’t come knocking on my door trying to convert me to their beliefs.

Now I know that sometimes people’s beliefs seem a little strange to most of us if not completely weird, but is it any more bonkers to believe that we are descended from aliens than that we are descended from Adam and Eve, or have been reincarnated after being a worm in a past life? … I don’t think so.

So why is the German military picking on poor little Tom Cruise ? Are they really that concerned about Tom being a member of a loony cult or are they more concerned about a film that not only shows the heroism of Count von Staufenberg, but may also show the popular support, at that time, for Hitler and the Nazis ? I don’t seem to recall the anti-Semitic ‘Passion of the Christ’ being banned in Germany, and that was made by that even bigger religious nutcase, Mel Gibson !

Tom Cruise and all the other Hollywood weirdos have the right to believe what they like, even if the German military does not want an Operating Thetan on level 7 of Scientology’s ‘Bridge of Total Freedom’ to work in their country.

What next, Madonna, Britney Spears and the rest of the wacky Kabbalah ‘celebs’ banned for wearing a red string bracelet ? …

…   Makes you wonder !

7 Responses to “Thetan Tom’s Taboo.”

  1. ferouzeh said

    Tom Cruise and all the other Hollywood weirdos have the right to believe what they like, even if the German military does not want an Operating Thetan on level 7 of Scientology’s ‘Bridge of Total Freedom’ to work in their country.

    Quite: TC can believe what he wants – But the Germans don’t want to stop him from believing what he wants – they just don’t want him there maybe for the reasons you say (I suspected as much myself) – Don’t you think they (the Germans) have the right to do what they want in their own country?
    Tell me where I go wrong (as my boss used to say) -:)

    Feruz
    Hope I have put tag as I should

  2. Big John said

    ‘Don’t you think they (the Germans) have the right to do what they want in their own country?’

    You have a point Ferouzeh, but discriminating against someone on the grounds of their religion is reminisant of the bad old days in Germany. After all it’s not as if Tom Cruise poses a threat to their national security.

  3. Terri said

    I agree with you on all counts, John. I am not involved in any sort of organized religion. Gave that up years ago. But I also have no problem with other’s indulging in their beliefs, as long as they don’t inflict them on me. Any form of religious discrimination is a slippery slope.

  4. Ginnie said

    Hi John: Have you ever heard the comment about the atheist who has died and his tombstone read “All dressed up and nowhere to go” ??
    It has always made me furious because those who repeat it do so in a superior and condescending way…as if they KNOW that we will all become “believers” with our dying breath. My husband was an athesist and when he died he left his entire body to the University of North Carolina Medical school. He was a very spiritual and moral human being and lived and died as an atheist. I am sick to death of people (including us over in Iraq) trying to change others to their beliefs.
    Wow…I guess you pushed a button with me with this post. Thanks.

  5. Ginnie said

    oops…my line should have read, “trying to change others to OUR beliefs”………sorry.

  6. Big John said

    ‘Jackshian’ left a comment which got ‘spamed’ by ‘Akismet’. Sorry Jack. Please try again.

  7. Jackshian said

    My comment was that the son of Count von Staufenberg was probably complaining because he wanted a good actor to play his father in the film.

    Bloody Akismet!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

