bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

“Mum! Do I have to wear a flower?”

Posted by Big John on June 25, 2007

I’m sure that those of you who have read my posts about my childhood during the dark days of World War II and the years of rationing and deprivation, will have a mental picture of a scruffy little urchin from the grimy backstreets of South London.

Well, how about this for a change of image ? …

w-w-wed.jpg

Yes, the tiny ‘toff’ in this wartime wedding group is me, all dressed up in my Little Lord Fauntleroy ‘Sunday best’.

My mother (in the spotted dress next to the bride) must have spent all our clothing coupons on my outfit, and how about that cap? I suspect that it was borrowed or ‘handed down’ from one of my older cousins.

I remember ‘inheriting’ a very smart set of clothes from an older cousin, consisting of a coat, breeches and large flat cap, all in a rather bright green tweed fabric. I hated it ! and can only recall wearing it once, when my mother made me wear it to school, where I must have stood out like some ‘posh’ prat amongst all the other little tykes in their grey patched ‘hand-me-downs’. I decided to camouflage myself with mud from head to toe. I don’t think that my mum was too pleased, but I never saw that outfit again.

In the photograph I appear to be clutching something in my right hand, as does the lady in the ‘Robin Hood’ hat. I suspect that it was confetti, as valuable rice …  

would have been reserved for a pudding.  

6 Responses to ““Mum! Do I have to wear a flower?””

  1. Betty said

    John is that Fred Astaire standing to your left? LOL By the way, do you think you’re going to like Gordon Brown better than Tony Blair?

  2. gawilli said

    That was a pretty slick way to get away from that inherited set of clothes!

  3. Big John said

    Well spotted Betty. Ginger is just ‘out of shot’. :-) I don’t think that any pensioner in Britain is very keen on our new PM. Still I can’t see him crawling up Bush’s arse like our ‘Tone’.

  4. ferouzeh said

    Goodgod….Your younger self looks like a real Just William!
    By the way ( or maybe not) do you have any recollection of the Brylcreem Boys?
    Can you tell us something about them?

  5. Terri said

    Great photo of you looking so dapper. I rather miss the dress code of years ago….it’s doubtful that here in the States anybody would show up looking so properly dressed for a wedding.

  6. Big John said

    Ah! Brylcreem Ferouzeh, what would we have done without it ? No ‘spikey’ hairstyles in those days, just flat and shiny. I do remember members of the RAF being referred to as ‘Brylcreem Boys’ during the war years, but not when I served as a conscript in the late 1950’s. BTW I loved ‘Just William’ books when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

