bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • May 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

“We can see you”.

Posted by Big John on May 21, 2007

Speaking on the BBC’s ‘Politics Show’ the Deputy Chief Constable of Hampshire Police, Ian Readhead, said Britain is in danger of becoming an “Orwellian” society because of growing surveillance.

There are believed to be about 4.2 million closed circuit TV cameras in Britain, about one for every 14 people. The bloody things are everywhere, and it is said that the average person can be seen on CCTV about 300 times per day.

Whether you are picking your nose or scratching your arse someone is watching … and as for … wiping your arse ? … I wonder !

Blimey ! They even have cameras that talk to you if you drop litter on the high street … “You vill now pick up zat ‘Starbucks’ cup, or I vill zend a human to fine you on zee spot!” … How long before this becomes … “or I vill zap you viz my 50,000 volt built-in Taser” ?  

Apparently a small town in Mr. Readhead’s area has spent £10,000 on CCTV cameras …  

“I’m really concerned about what happens to the product of these cameras, and what comes next? If it’s in our villages, are we really moving towards an Orwellian situation where cameras are at every street corner?” … asks this senior copper …  he added … “I really don’t think that’s the kind of country that I want to live in”.

Well, nor do I mate !

So does this mean that we will now see a new enlightened police strategy when it comes to surveillance ?

Well, not if you read today’s latest BBC report it doesn’t.

Yes, It’s a go anywhere surveillance ‘drone’ … Well, go almost anywhere.

What next a submarine one ? … Blimey! … I could be right …

…  about what’s lurking around the bend ! 

5 Responses to ““We can see you”.”

  1. Betty said

    That is truly scary. The same thing is happening here, but I don’t believe it is to that extent. It started with putting cameras on stop lights to arrest people who run the red lights. But, they could easily have multiple purposes, and indeed, may have.

  2. Betty said

    John, I’m having a terrible time trying to comment on your blog. Don’t know whether it is Blogger or WordPress messing up, but maybel it’ll let me comment today. We have cameras all over the place her, too. The most obvious ones are in stores, but different towns have started putting cameras on traffic lights, ostensibly to catch people running red lights.

  3. Big John said

    Betty. I don’t know what the problem is but some comments are being blocked as ‘spam’. As you can see I unblocked one from you.

  4. Terri said

    There’s a section of Tampa where there’s cameras on all the light posts…amazing. They say it’s to curtail crime. I say, it’s an invasion of our precious privacy!

  5. Jackshian said

    According to the news today they have actually put video cameras on the caps of some traffic wardens so they can record people’s reactions to getting a parking ticket .. so lots of people being filmed saying sod off! I guess .. I can’t help thinking that in some areas of London they might need rectal surgery to recover the video

    And I hope they turn them off when they use the loo.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

