bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • May 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

Meandering in Morocco

Posted by Big John on May 17, 2007

For all of you who have been worried about my wife, you will be pleased to know that I did not sell her to some Berber tribesman as I had intended, as the goats were all climbing trees …

copy-of-goats.jpg

 

The camels were hiding and all ‘had the hump’ (Ouch! Sorry) …

copy-of-camels.jpg

… and the poor bloody donkey looked so pitiful with his front legs tied together that I could not bring myself to put his hind legs in danger…

donkey.jpg

Long before we reached Morocco I had realised that my wife is a second rate amateur when it came to ‘talking the hind leg off a donkey’ for there were ladies on our cruise who were world class chatterers and could ‘take gold’ in the Olympics for ‘ear bashing’.

Most of our fellow passengers were of the grey hair and walking stick kind, sort of  ‘Geriatrics ‘R’ Us’. Some were so old and feeble that I was disappointed and surprised when I did not witness a burial at sea.  ;-)

Among the younger passengers one fortysomething blond stood out when on a visit to the ‘Beau Geste’ walled town of Taroudant …

gateway.jpg

 … about a one and a half hour drive inland from the modern coastal resort of Agadir, on the West coast of Africa, where our ship was docked. The information leaflet read … ‘Dress … Morocco is an Islamic country and you should use discretion’. So what did she wear ? … copy-of-medina.jpgVery short shorts, high heels and a sun top that showed as much bare flesh as possible. Un-bloody-believable !

I hate guided tours, but the only way to see a bit of the ‘real’ Morocco when short of time, was to join one and then slip away, as soon as possible, from the crowd with it’s attendant group of beggars and hustlers. This I did and had an enjoyable time mixing with the locals, who mostly seemed to ignore me as I wandered alone through their ‘medina’. I only had one bloke make a half hearted attempt to sell me a leather belt when I reached the ‘souk’. I noted that he was prepared to accept any money, Dollars …  Pounds … Euros …  Strange, but he never mentioned Moroccan Dirhams.

The temperature was above 90 degrees and so we stopped off at a modern hotel …

hotel-gate.jpg

 

where in it’s beautiful gardens, we sat under ‘bedouin’ style tents, where Colonel Gaddafi would have felt at home, and were served orange juice and mint tea which was most welcome … but at that moment …

…   I would have given anything for a pint.    

 Click on images to enlarge and watch out for more pics on ‘Flickr’.

5 Responses to “Meandering in Morocco”

  1. Betty said

    I can’t believe the insensitivity of some tourists. Sorry you missed out on a burial at sea. Maybe next time.

  2. Ginnie said

    Whew…what a relief to know that your wife is safely ensconced at home. Sounds like a great trip and I would have done the same thing… left the guided tour and wandered on my own. I hope the tourist in the “short shorts” wasn’t from the United States…but it wouldn’t surprise me…the “ugly American” syndrome is based on much fact from what I saw on my overseas travel.

  3. Oscarandre said

    I still remember a woman teetering around the edge of the Grand Canyon in high heels while a group of Japanese tourists remained fast asleep in the back of the bus. Good to have you back, John.

  4. Big John said

    I’m not sure if the lady was American, Ginnie, but there was an American gentleman on board who was more British than the ‘British’.
    He was often dressed in a blue blazer, cravat (ascot), long white shorts, knee length white socks and white oxfords. Classic !

  5. Terri said

    Oh, this sounded like a wonderful trip! Great photos and I’m sure you arrived home with many memories.
    Have to agree with Ginnie…wouldn’t doubt at all that the ditz in the short shorts was American! They tend to do “showy” things like that and then wonder why they’re not accepted across the Atlantic.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

