bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • April 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

A far better planet.

Posted by Big John on April 20, 2007

I’m a big fan of the BBC TV series ‘Life on Mars’.

Why ? … Because I was there … Blimey ! I even had the same car (well, almost), and that’s my daughter sitting on it in 1973 …

mars.jpg

… looking as Gene Hunt would say … “As nervous as a small nun at a penguin shoot”.

OK, so I wasn’t a hard nosed rule bending copper like Detective Chiefg-h-mars.jpg Inspector Hunt even though I did look a bit like him, and I did wear those driving gloves, although I didn’t use them to … “play slappy face”, but I could ‘talk the talk’, even if I couldn’t ‘walk the walk’. I could also drink the drink, smoke the fags and grow the ‘Barnet’.

I believe the series is being shown on BBC America, but I can’t imagine any American being able to understand a single ‘non PC’ word of it.

So to quote DCI Gene Hunt, all I have to say to you … 

“great, soft, sissy, girly, nancy, French bender Man United supporting poofs!”

… across the pond  … is … give it a try … and although the programme is set in the 1970s …

…   Don’t expect ‘Starsky and Hutch’.  :-)

2 Responses to “A far better planet.”

  1. Ginnie said

    The only part of your blog that I understood was that about the nuns !!
    I take it that “Life on Mars” is a TV series…??? Nope, can’t find it on my listings here in North Carolina.

  2. Pimme said

    We have pretty colorful dialogue of our own on US TV shows already!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

