bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • February 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

Who needs a TV tantrum ?

Posted by Big John on February 20, 2007

Here we go again ! … It’s scare of the week time !

A report, published in the science journal ‘Biologist’ has identified 15 negative effects that television can have on children, ranging from short-sightedness and obesity to premature puberty and autism, and concludes that cutting children’s viewing time must become a health priority.

The author of the report, Dr Aric Sigman, a psychologist, proposes banning the youngest children from watching television and only introducing it “judiciously” after that.

The report also states that over half of three-year-olds in this country have a TV in their bedroom: so I have to say that I think the good doctor is kidding himself if he thinks that his report is going to change anything; for kids are addicted to television in the same way that they are addicted to junk food, and as with the ‘healthy eating’ campaigns by the likes of Jamie Oliver, who’s profile is a little bit higher than that of the doctor, most parents will ignore his warnings and opt for the easy life as usual, by popping down to ‘McDonalds’ for a ‘Happy Meal’  in the hope that a fistful of  ‘McNuggets’ and a ‘Mix ‘n’ Muddle’ will make their little darling …

…    surrender the ‘remote’ for a few minutes.

4 Responses to “Who needs a TV tantrum ?”

  1. Ginnie said

    Now John, don’t you feel a lot safer with all these “experts” out there telling us how to raise our kids?? I can’t imagine how we got along before they told us !

  2. Terri said

    I do have to agree that kids today have way too much tv viewing. I think parents use it as a babysitter. Instead of spending quality time with their children, I guess it’s just easier to toss them that remote.
    And they wonder why families are falling apart? Gee….could be because they barely eat together, never mind spend that important one on one time together.

  3. gawilli said

    Television, and video games, and computers, and iPods, and cell phones….it just goes on and on, and none of them are conducive to face to face communication. It’s very sad.

  4. moog said

    what the hell??
    How dare that quack remark that telly can cause autism!!?!?!?
    you cant catch it!!!
    and I also take issue with the idea that autism is a negative thing… although I know that there is much discussion in this, but there are some who would argue that having autism is not a negative thing at all, and that it is very shortshighted of that quack to put autism in the bracket of a negative thing.
    and another thing… there are some studies that have proved that some TV has had a positive effect on individuals who have autism… so there, silly doctor!!! :)
    im of to watch Ireland beat England!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

