bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • February 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Was it just a ‘smoke screen’ ?

Posted by Big John on February 13, 2007

I don’t really give a shit if David Cameron, or ‘Tony 2′ as I like to call him, puffed on a spliff when he was at Eton, or even if he grew the wrong kind of ‘grass’ on those famous playing fields.

What I find more interesting is the revelation that he was a member, along with fellow MP Boris Johnson, of the hedonistic and notorious Bullingdon Dining Club who’s privilaged … ‘super rich’ … ‘upper crust’ … ‘Old Etonian’ … members’ main interests were (and probably still are)  guzzling champagne, passing out pissed and trashing restaurants.

Umm! … Sounds like the ideal training for a Member of Parliament: and isn’t it nice to know that the ‘man of the people’ who has a windmill on his roof, rides a mountain bike to Westminster, listens to ‘The Killers’, and tells us to “hug a hoodie” is really a good old fashioned Tory ‘toff’ after all.

I notice that some of the newspapers are starting to play up the ‘Bullers’ story, and it’s likely that some ‘red top’ will dig up some dirt on Dave from his days at Oxford, which is a little unfair on the would be Prime Minister, but if you hide behind a pile of bullshit  …

…  You can’t expect to smell of roses.

2 Responses to “Was it just a ‘smoke screen’ ?”

  1. Oscarandre said

    Well, BJ, I cn only envy you the disclosures about your MPs. Here in Australia, Prime Minister John Howard and his main contender are more likely to exchange barbs about who is the best Christian. If Johnny Howard had a Monica Lewinsky moment he could do so with total impunity since no-one would believe it – no matter how often he boasted!

  2. Jackshian said

    I keep asking the question ‘where have all the decent people gone’ .. not into any of our political parties thats for sure.

    ‘Call Me Dave’ doesn’t inspire much does he? .. Tony 2 sounds about right, but at least thats better than Prescott 2 which really would be the end of civilisation.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

