bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • February 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

Puny ‘plods’.

Posted by Big John on February 11, 2007

abu-cop.jpgToday is my 68th birthday and they say that you know when you are getting old because policemen start to look like boys. Well the little lad on the left is really taking the piss. Bloody hell ! He would have been as much use as a chocolate teapot on the back streets of South London when I was a kid.

Back in the 1940s one of my neighbours was an old fashioned copper. Like most policemen he was well over six feet tall and must have weighed at least twenty stone (280 pounds). He looked very much like constable George Dixon in ‘The Blue Lamp’ and was definitely a dignified figure of authority iblue-l.jpgn his helmet and high collared tunic with it’s silver chain and whistle.

Today police officers come in all shapes and sizes and, if you are lucky enough to see one, he or she will look as smart and impressive as a council road sweeper in their bright yellow ‘day-glow’ jacket and sagging belt full of crime fighting  ‘utensils’.

Now we learn that more and more police forces services are issuing their officers with ‘SWAT’ style uniforms and baseball caps, while Muslim policewomen in London are wearing hijabs and officers mounted on mountain bikes ride around looking ridiculous by wearing shorts, funny looking hard hats and T shirts.

What next  …  ‘hoodies’ ?

Well anything is better than  …  THIS !

8 Responses to “Puny ‘plods’.”

  1. Jackshian said

    Its an age thing John (or so I’m told) .. and Happy Birthday

  2. Ginnie said

    Happy Birthday, John. I have 6 years on you and will turh 74 on the 15th. Now I know why I always relate to your posts and comments…we are fellow Aquarians.

  3. Betty said

    Happy Birthday, John. And, many, many more.

  4. Brian said

    Keep writing John. Yours is the first site I go to when I switch on. As an ex Mancunian and four months your senior, I enjoy your pertinant commentary. Have a happy birtday fom down under.

  5. feruz said

    happy birthday dear John
    Feruz

  6. Chris said

    A belated happy birthday to you. Hope it was a good one.

    Re. the cops – Compared to your venerable self, I am merely a young whippersnapper of 41-and-a-half (hell, I had to think for ten seconds before remembering me own age!) and policemen even look young to me.

    Looking at the pic you linked to though, I wonder what is worse: police that are armed as a matter of course (which is bad enough) or the American Deep South-style rural sherrif cops of the sort caricatured in films like Pulp Fiction. Surely they don’t really exist? Or do they? Because they would scare the hell out of me, gun or no gun.

  7. Big John said

    Many thanks to you all for the birthday greeting etc. John

  8. Terri said

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, JOHN! Sorry I wasn’t here for the actual day and wishing you a year filled with much happiness and laughter.
    You made me realize that doctors also seem to be getting younger. I wonder how that can be. They were SO old when I was in my 20′s.
    And you better believe all of that beats that photo you showed!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

