bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • January 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

‘Trolley Trance’ II

Posted by Big John on January 17, 2007

Remember how a couple of weeks ago I reported how my local supermarket had been taken over by ‘zombies’ ?

Well today I was ambushed by one in the fruit and vegetable section, when I left my half full trolley (cart) in a quiet corner to avoid the usual gridlock, and went off to select my ‘five a day’, only to discover on my return that it was missing.

I looked up and down the aisles until I spied a shuffling creature with drooping eyelids slowly hiding my shopping under her selection of items in a trolley which had my large frozen food storage bag hanging from the handle.

OK, so anyone can make a mistake, as all loaded trollies tend to look alike, but how can you fail to notice as you walk along, that a bloody great bright green object … 

…        is banging against your knees ?

4 Responses to “‘Trolley Trance’ II”

  1. Ginnie said

    You left out the best part, John. How did you handle the situation???

  2. Maria said

    Thanks John, I just read your comment to me on Trolley Trance I. Can’t stop laughing about being pardoned for being Californian and well, a group of guys wearing blue bandanas surrounding my car. . . were they good looking? Now that might make my old blood begin flowing with new young energy.

    It is the middle of the night and I can’t sleep so I am catching up on blogs. I find I am much more silly and free thinking after midnight.

  3. Big John said

    Ginnie – I held two bread sticks in front of my face in the form of a crucifix and politely asked the woman concerned if I could have my trolley back or would she prefer to give it to me after she had gone through the checkout ? It’s the first time I have seen the face of a zombie turn red. :-)

    Maria – I don’t remember too much about those ‘gang bangers’ except that they used the word ‘mother’ a lot. ;-)

  4. Terri said

    Betcha anything she was hoping you’d never discover her and she’d be the proud new owner of that freezer bag.
    LOVED your comment about my “royal” entry. So thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

