bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • January 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

‘Bobbies’ for Basra.

Posted by Big John on January 15, 2007

I’m a bit puzzled by two news stories concerning our prince of ‘piss artists” and ‘ginger spare’ to the throne … ‘Hooray Harry’.

One story tells us that he is undergoing special training prior to a possible posting to Iraq, now that he has completed a four-and-a-half month training course at Bovington Camp in Dorset, and has become an Armoured Reconnaissance Troop Leader: which sounds like a pretty dangerous job to me. (Umm! .. Don’t I recall another ginger cavalry officer doing a similar job during ‘Desert Storm’ ?)  

So if he has been trained to search out the enemy and to bravely lead his men around in hostile territory, how come he needs a dozen or so coppers and two royal protection officers to see him safely to his car when leaving a nightclub in the middle of London ?   

It has been claimed that this young ‘chinless wonder’ would put his men in danger if he were sent to a war zone, because he would become a ‘trophy’ target for the enemy, and I expect that is true; so I do feel sorry for the men who will be under his command, but not as sorry as I feel for the two van loads of coppers …

…       who will have to follow his tank.

6 Responses to “‘Bobbies’ for Basra.”

  1. Ginnie said

    It’s all so ridiculous…have you ever seen a “war” like this? No sane reason for it and all the politicians vying for center stage !

  2. Betty said

    It remains to be seen whether he will go at all, doesn’t it? I’ve been curious about something, and, since you don’t seem to be enthralled with royalty, I’ll ask you. Who does Harry look like? Not Charles, for sure. Does he look like his Uncle, Diana’s brother, perhaps?

  3. Big John said

    I will probably be locked up in the Tower of London for saying it Betty, but many people in the UK think that he looks like that other ‘ginger cavalry officer’ Diana’s ex lover, James Hewitt.

  4. Fred Wotsit said

    The problem as I see it John is that the alternative to Liz and the gang will be Posh & Becks / Jade Goody /Tony Blair types which is even worse .. just! .. at least Harry might earn his medals unlike the rest who are weighed down in their ceremonial uniforms.

    Yep .. he looks just like James Hewitt .. poor sod.

  5. Terri said

    Hmmm…..I’m planning a blog tomorrow about William….so I give you fair warning you might not want to visit…lol
    I admit it….I’m captivated with the Royal family. Always have been. But then….I live on THIS side of the pond!

  6. Betty said

    That’s who I thought he looked like, too. LOL

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

