bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • December 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

Three years and still ‘trying’.

Posted by Big John on December 27, 2006

It is now three years since my daughter set up a blog for me and gave me the ‘nom de blog’ of ‘bigjohn‘. At the time she thought that it might help to keep me out of mischief after my retirement.

“OK”, I said “I’ll give it a try”, never believing that I would ever find enough to write about or that anyone would be interested in the ramblings of a grumpy old fart like me.

Much to my surprise, I find that three years later, I have written nearly 1,000 posts, have had well over 2,000 comments and have received almost 200,000 hits, although I suspect that this last figure may be open to question as most of these ‘hits’ were when I was with ‘blog-city’ and they are still showing that I am getting ‘hit’ at an average rate of 300 per day despite the fact that I no longer post there.

I must confess that I am beginning to slow down a bit and have considered departing from the ‘blogosphere’, but have decided that I will plod on for a bit longer (I’ll try not to repeat myself too often) as I do enjoy ‘meeting‘ all you interesting people out there. Not to mention the pleasure it gives me being able to let off steam and rant about the bloody ‘royals’ … our crap politicians … etc. etc.

So all I can say is … Thanks a lot for spending time with me … and …

 …     Please keep watching this space.

     

6 Responses to “Three years and still ‘trying’.”

  1. Betty said

    My goodness, John, don’t stop blogging. Reading blogs from around the world is the best way to find out what’s really going on.

  2. Jay said

    You can’t quit now dude, I just got here! Oh sure, there might three years worth of blogging for me to catch up on, but after that what would I do? Sorry, but nobody is allowed to leave the blogosphere. It’s like the Hotel California. You can check anytime you like, but you can never leave. Or something like that.

  3. Happy (virtual) birthday

  4. anan said

    Really, John, it would be such a disappointment to come here and find an empty spot without your wit and good humour. Please do consider staying on, if only to keep up global sanity a bit…PLEAAASSSE!

  5. Ginnie said

    I echo the others, John. Don’t you dare leave us!
    By the way, I tried to find the great picture that you posted a few months back showing the three children who were very unhappy at having their picture taken … and I couldn’t find it.(One was your Uncle, I believer.) Was it on your old blog and how do I get it? I want to compare it with a very funny picture that my oldest sister (age 80) sent to me as a Christmas gift.

  6. Big John said

    Thanks for the kind comments friends.

    Nice to hear from you again Anan.

    Ginnie – You can find that photo at http://oldgit.wordpress.com/2006/10/06/a-not-too-neat-and-tidy-trio/ Please feel free to use it if you wish to.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

