bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • December 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

Official ‘party poopers’.

Posted by Big John on December 20, 2006

This is the time of year when it is the custom to make a complete prat of yourself at the office party; and let me tell you that I used to excel at this in my younger days.

You name it and I’ve done it, including the ‘classic’ of telling the boss just what you think of him when caught in his office drinking his booze and ‘entertaining’ his secretary.

Below is a photograph taken at an office Christmas party in 1957 …

office-party.jpg

… I’m the one in the middle.  … Just take a look at the little guy on the left. … Boy! Is he having a good time ? … I think that the girl on my right wearing the white top is trying to decide if I’m worth grabbing if ever I let go of the blond on my left.    :-)

Now all that innocent fun may become a thing of the past because ‘The Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service’ has issued an advice pamphlet, which among other things, has warned bosses they could end up being sued if they or their employees behave in a ‘politically incorrect’ manner, that they have a “duty of care” to inebriated staff, and that they could end up on the wrong side of the law if they don’t make sure that those employees get home safely, or if their employees get hurt while stumbling out of the party drunk.

What a load of old bollocks !

The only danger I ever faced after the office Christmas party was the danger of …

…  not having a job to return to after the holidays.

6 Responses to “Official ‘party poopers’.”

  1. Ginnie said

    Oh, no, don’t remind me. I’ve very conveniently forgotten what an ass I was at more than one of those parties. And there always seemed to be a guy lurking around with a gleam in his eye just like yours, John. You were (are?) a cutie and I hope you were single then!
    I WISH you (and your long-suffering WIFE of 45 YEARS) all the best for the season. Ginnie

  2. Big John said

    Thanks Ginnie and the seasons greetings to you. I was eighteen when that photo was taken and marriage was the last thing on my mind. ;-)

  3. Betty said

    We never had office parties where I worked. They had them years ago, but had to stop them because (they said) they had to many complaints about spiked punch and/or liquor being served. I think it was because they were just too cheap to spring for a party.

  4. Ginnie said

    John, in answer to your mention of the name “Entwistle” in my last blog. Bert was married to a lady named Queenie when he was with us in the 40’s and they had a little boy named John…who was to become the famous member of the “Who”. So, Dora, who was at my Mother’s 80th with Bert, was John’s step-mother. I never met him but two of my sisters and their families did. Bert was very close to John even though he & Queenie were divorced.

  5. Terri said

    I’ve never been to an office party either…well, at least not THAT kind. (smile)
    What a great photo…and I think you’re right…that brunette had her eye on you. But it was obvious from the photo, you weren’t letting go of that blonde!
    BY the way….I still say you resembled James Dean a lot!

  6. Libertine said

    Damn, I wasn’t even born in 1957.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

