bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • November 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 54 other followers

Pass the remote.

Posted by Big John on November 26, 2006

I won’t say that I am a big fan of the BBC’s ‘Holiday’ programme, but I will miss it now that it is to be axed after 37 years.

However one thing that I will not miss is all that bloody noise at the start of the show with all that ‘whooshing’ around the globe and screams of … “Oh Yes!” “Oh Yes!” … as poor old Lawrence Llewelyn-Bowen tries not to fall into the Grand Canyon as he is forced to shout … “The programme that gives you the world” … in order to be heard above all that din.

I am fed up with trying to watch TV shows and movies where it is almost impossible to hear what is being said above all the background noise and loud soundtrack music. Even the TV news has thumping noise in the background.

When I first visited the United States some thirty years ago and watched American TV shows I was surprised by the studio audiences’ reaction when someone was introduced by any show’s host. Even the most unfunny comedian was greeted with a minute or so of yells, whistles, screams and loud applause. Of course by now we have all become familiar with this orchestrated audience ‘participation’ on British TV, which is now often accompanied by deafening ‘blasts’ of sound by a studio band.

At least when the commercials come on I can ‘click’ off the sound. I can also turn down the volume if I am unhappy with the sound level on a music programme, but what of the ‘raucous’ rest ?  …

 …   I wonder if my remote has a subtitles only button ? 

4 Responses to “Pass the remote.”

  1. Terri said

    Boy, I know what you’re saying….just the other morning I was watching the Today Show and Meridith and Matt Lauer were outside where the crowds were and the people were yelling SO much I wasn’t even able to hear what Meridith was saying. You’d think they’d have a way of blocking out all that background sound….or maybe they want to.

  2. Ginnie said

    I gave up on most TV a long time ago. I can’t stand the “canned”stuff and usually just put the news on (CNN) in the background to keep up with what’s going on in the world. Of course that can be very depressing too…so a good book is my answer.

  3. Rhea said

    I am always turning on the subtitles. I have trouble with accents and stuff.

  4. rosebud said

    I’ve taken to watching TV with the sound off as well. I think it is more entertaining that way plus I can talk on the phone while watching. Shows that have laughter to jokes not even remotely funny are ridiculously insulting to my sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

