bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • November 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

When will Willy wed ?

Posted by Big John on November 18, 2006

I hope that you are all getting ready to rush down to ‘Woolies’ to buy your royal wedding souvenirs once they go on sale. 

I can hardly wait. In fact I will be first in the queue outside my local store after elbowing all the other silly old sods out of the way.

I don’t know whether to buy a mouse mat or a mug. Everything is so tasteful, especially the Will and Kate-shaped pick and mix sweets. I really must get some of those, even if they do make me sick. Which reminds me; don’t you just love that plate with the picture on it of Willy about to throw up and a gormless looking Katie being smacked in the side of the head with a large birds’ nest.

While I’m in the store I must look for something suitable to send to the happy pair as a wedding present, for I know that lots of my old fart friends will be spending their pension money on gifts to help the couple set up home together. Well newlyweds can’t have enough towels and knitted toilet roll covers can they ?

When the time comes I must remember to send a card, as it’s always nice to have something to put on the mantelpiece; or perhaps I’ll join all the other thousands of loonies loyal oldies and take a few flowers along on the day.

The old Saxe-Coberg-Gotha family does love a ‘bit of a do’ when it comes to a wedding. Well why shouldn’t they?  If they can’t afford it, I’m sure that we would all be prepared to chip in a few quid to help pay for the beer and sandwiches. After all they’ve never been too proud to accept our money in the past.

I do love a royal wedding, but it’s such a shame that so many end in divorce. I blame that ‘Foggy’ Phillips, that ‘Toe-job’ Fergie and that ‘Creepy’ Camilla.

I’m sure that any day now we will hear the wonderful news about other royal wedding plans. Yes, I mean the luvverly ‘Chels’ and ‘The Ginger Spare’

…..   Now that should be a ‘right royal’ piss-up. 

5 Responses to “When will Willy wed ?”

  1. Ginnie said

    Hi John: I wish you’d tell us how you really feel ! (Ha,Ha) Can you imagine getting some of those items and then having to look at them for the rest of your life?? I’ll take my bone china unadorned, thank you.

  2. Betty said

    I can’t wait, either. It has been a while since we were able to turn on our television sets and witness a royal spectacle. Hmmmm. That didn’t sound quite right, did it?

  3. Amy said

    Re discovered you by accident, just by reading Rosebud’s new one. I have put a little of my Uncle’s life memories on my toad-fire site, started in the days when it was impossible for me to post at blog-city.

  4. Maria said

    Always love your royal weddings! No one can do it as well as the English. Now I take that back, our Royals are all movie stars and well. . . there is TomKat for comparison.

  5. Terri said

    Awwww, John….you disappoint me! You mean you’re not captivated with the Royal family and especially their weddings?
    I have to admit….I’m a sap for them. I stayed glued to the TV for Diana’s and I also admit to Royal addiction….love keeping up with them.
    I actually visited England in Nov. after Diana died….and went to Athorp and left flowers and a card at the gate. I did…I really did. Bet ya didn’t know how enthralled I was with your Royal family….but alas, the secret’s out now. (I should dig up the photo of me placing the flowers at that gate and blog about that)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

