bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • October 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 57 other followers

A tale of two teenagers.

Posted by Big John on October 17, 2006

My first holiday without my parents was when I was seventeen, when I and some friends spent a week at Butlin’s Holiday Camp at Clacton on Sea. The year was 1956.

roy-and-me.jpgThe photograph was taken in the camp dining hall and shows me and my mate Roy on the day that we arrived. I know it was the day we arrived because Roy got chatting to ‘an older woman’ (she was at least twenty) on the next table and I never saw him again until the end of the week.

Roy had been my best friend at school although we did not have a lot in common, and this became more apparent after we left school. Just look at the way we are dressed. I’m trying my best to look like my idol, James Dean, in my white T shirt, jeans and check shirt, whilst he looks more like my dad in his sports jacket, flannel trousers and cravat (ascot). Perhaps his ‘older woman’ thought he was an older man.

I lost track of Roy a few months later, for as I went on ‘Rock ‘n’ Rolling’ towards conscription, he followed his older brothers into the Royal Air Force by signing on as a ‘regular’. I  preferred to wait until ‘they came and got me’ for my two years, in the vain hope that I might be overlooked.

Come to think of it, staying at a Butlin’s was good preparation for the military life of a young conscript, with it’s red coated staff forcing everyone to have ‘regimented’ fun and being awakened every morning by a loudspeaker’s call to an early breakfast. Not to mention the ‘mess hall’ style of dining and the ‘cast-iron’ bunk beds.

Strangely Roy never spoke about his ‘experiences’ with his ‘older woman’ and I wasn’t really interested to tell the truth, for I had enjoyed a week of drinking beer and chasing teenage girls. A fairly new experience for someone who had until recently attended an all boys school.

So did I have any ‘experiences’ to brag about to Roy after all my lustful pursuing of those nubile young women ? …  Umm!! 

  ……     Well I did say that this was 1956.  ;-)

7 Responses to “A tale of two teenagers.”

  1. ginnie said

    I’d take you over Roy any day, John. I always hated the type that dressed to the hilt thinking they were “big stuff”.
    By the way, I seem to recall that 1956 had some pretty wild girls in it…at least in our area!

  2. Terri said

    Ooooh, I have to agree with Ginnie. You were one, extremely handsome young man and I saw a slight resemblance to James Dean, so you pulled off “the look.”
    Really enjoyed your story here…you’ve probably gathered, I love reading about people’s days gone by.

  3. gawilli said

    Yep. I’d have to say that I much prefer the James Dean look over the other any day. I had a similar camp experience in my teens also. Those were good growing up years.

  4. Betty said

    Well, it’s unanimous, John. Roy loses. Enjoyed your story and photo.

  5. colleen said

    Very cute! I enjoyed looking around here. I like your sidebar bio.

  6. briggy said

    roy looks like he might have become leslie philips!

  7. frisby said

    I think you should start posting some more recent photos..mum will be getting jealous with all these young ladies giving you compliments!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

