bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • October 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 51 other followers

“The happiest days of your life”.

Posted by Big John on October 10, 2006

I have noted recently that a number of people have found this blog by way of ‘Googling’ for ‘Archbishop Temple’s School’, so although I have touched on this subject in previous posts, I thought that I might recall  a few memories of my schooldays from more than half a century ago.

headmasters-house.jpgHalf a century ! It was more like something from the time of Charles Dickens, with freezing classrooms heated by one small coal fire (if there was any coal), old wooden desks with inkwells, and blackboards mounted on easels. The only things missing were quill pens. The headmaster strolled about in a black gown and lived in the gatehouse tower over the main entrance to the school. An entrance which we boys were forbidden to use.

To me there was always a strange ambience about the place. Sort of psuedo public school* combined with smelly reformatory.

Games were compulsory as was physical education. I hated both. Getting hit in the ‘nuts’ by a cricket ball and wearing a white singlet, navy blue shorts and black plimsoles and being forced to run around Archbishop’s Park on a winter’s morning put me off sport for ever. 

The school’s most famous old boy was Hollywood’s cane twirling Charlie Chaplin. Similar canes were much favoured by sadistic staff members masquerading as teachers. The worst of these bastards was responsible for teaching me Latin and French. He failed. The grinning arsehole is pictured below, when I was unfortunate enough also to have him as my form master. (I’m the one standing on the far left).

school-f-g.jpg

The school was a Church of England Central School and was situated  close to Lambeth Palace, the London residence of the Archbishop of Canterbury, who was also the head of the school governors. Obviously religion played a big part in my education and every Friday I had to attend services at St. Mary’s Church which stands next to Lambeth Palace. All that Christian brainwashing and listening to some priest as he intoned his meaningless mumbo jumbo soon set me on the road to atheism.

I do remember a few decent teachers, like the out of work actor who taught drama and took groups of us to The Old Vic and other London theatres; and I enjoyed subjects like art, history and English literature, but I never did understand what Pythagoras and his bloody ‘Theorem’ was all about.

So you see that I wasn’t miserable all of the time  ……  

………    just most of it !

* Note to my American readers.   A ‘Public School’ in the UK is an independant fee paying school favoured by the ‘upper classes’

10 Responses to ““The happiest days of your life”.”

  1. Longrider said

    but I never did understand what Pythagoras and his bloody ’Theorem’ was all about.

    Very useful for roof building. Pythagoras was a doddle – it was the rest I couldn’t fathom…

  2. Betty said

    Your post has brought back some memories of professors I had in college. Maybe I’ll talk about them one day, if I can stand it.

  3. gawilli said

    “All that Christian brainwashing and listening to some priest as he intoned his meaningless mumbo jumbo soon set me on the road to atheism.”

    It’s amazing to me the things that are done in the name of Christianity. And it’s been going on forever.

  4. Ginnie said

    My lord, John, it does sound like a page from Dickens! Just think, it was all that schooling that made you the soft, temperate man that you are today!

  5. Now come John, it wasn’t all that bad, I know that some of the teachers were a bit sadistic but most schols were the same. I went from Temple’s to Tenison’s (just up the road by the Oval) when I left the 5th Form and that was a really …. You must have been in my class because I can name most of the lads in the photo. It was only a few years after the war so I suppose nobody had much. One story about your Form master I remember. He used to check our fingernails after lunch and if we had dirty fingernails we would get the ruler (not a big enough crime for the cane). However, if after amonth you hadn’t “got the ruler” he would give it to you anyway for trying to curry favour. Now that’s what I call inventive. I failed Latin as well so he must have spent too much time flogging rather than teaching.

  6. Big John said

    Tony. Many thanks for the comments. I am sending you an e mail with complete photo attached.

  7. Maria said

    I went to a private (public I suppose in England) called Holy Angels. I was a questioner and that was never popular with the nuns. I find it difficult to attend any church and if I were not hedging my bets, I would be an atheist. . . but a damn good one!

  8. Terri said

    I agree with Ginnie…it does sound like a story straight out of Dickens. And like Maria…I also attended a private, parochial school….I think those nuns took their training from your head masters. And as a result…all that religion they tried to cram into me…totally gone once I got into my late teens. Fear was not the way to educate children…but guess they missed that point!

  9. barry fantoni said

    I remember Fieldgate. Tell me more. I was there about the same time as you. I was in Hernaman House. Baz

  10. Big John said

    Blimey Barry ! A ‘celeb’ no less :-). I remember you very well. We were the ‘arty’ pair in the class. As I remember you lived on Brixton Hill ? I have a photograph with the two of us on a school trip. I gave up on this blog some time ago. e mail me at jkcjwc@aol.com and I’ll e mail the photo to you by return. Great to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

