bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • September 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Two TV Classics.

Posted by Big John on September 25, 2006

I have often complained about the crap that is shown on television and of how difficult it is to find something worth watching among the six hundred odd channels on offer these days.

However, two series have grabbed my attention in recent months. One is the magnificent ‘The Sopranos’ and the other is the superb ‘Deadwood’. In my opinion they are both unmissable.

Explicit violence and sex play a part in their story lines and although I do not like to see either used in a gratuitous form on the screen, I think that in this case it is justified as it only adds to the authentic ‘feel’ of both dramas.

The myriad of colourful characters portrayed, is I feel, worthy of a Damon Runyon or a Charles Dickens and I am sure that you will agree that the dialogue in ‘Deadwood’, when spoken by great British actors such as Brian Cox and Ian McShane, is truly Shakespearean.

How well I remember watching The Royal Shakespeare Company, when Dame Judi Dench uttered those immortal lines  ……

…..  “Romeo, Romeo ! Where the f – – k art thou Romeo?” 

5 Responses to “Two TV Classics.”

  1. I’m ashamed to admit I’ve never seen The Sopranos (on cable and I refuse to pay for TV!) but I think Deadwood is on regular tv here…haven’t watched it either but will try and catch it since I keep hearing good things.

  2. Betty said

    Did she really say that?!? How funny. I just love Dame Judy Dench.

  3. gawilli said

    We do not have HBO, and I believe that is where they are offered here. So, have not seen the Sopranos. I did see one of the first episodes of Deadwood while on a trip somewhere or other. I have to admit that the language was a distraction for me, although the sex and violence do not stand out in my mind. Hmm. It was interesting and if we had it here, we would probably be watching it since we love the westerns. Comcast wants more money for 4 premium channels, and we are not going to give it to them.

  4. ginnie said

    You never fail to amaze me, John. Your tastes are very eclectic.
    I think the “F word” as we politely call it in my world is much more offensive here than in England. I have a very sweet English friend who uses it fluently and never bats an eye.
    I enjoy your posts a lot.

  5. Big John said

    Thanks for the comments ladies. I’m afraid that you have to watch a few episodes of ‘Deadwood’ to appreciate the connection between ‘Shakespeare’ and the ‘F word’.
    I told a ‘porky’ ( Cockney Ryming slang for the word ‘lie’ = ‘pork pie’ ) about Dame Judi Betty, but I have heard her use that word on TV.
    Yes Ginnie, I’m afraid that the ‘F word’ is very ‘trendy’ here, but I never hear it coupled with the word ‘mother’ as in the USA. Strange how standards change. My father was a ‘blue collar’ worker and we lived in a ‘working class’ neighbourhood, but I never heard him use any of the obscene words that are so common today.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

