bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • September 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 57 other followers

Eco-friendly fire.

Posted by Big John on September 19, 2006

I have just been reading a report worthy of an ‘April Fools Day’ newspaper prank, for it says that.. “BAE Systems, one of the world’s largest arms manufacturers, is introducing a new generation of environmentally friendly weapons in an effort to minimise the damage that they can do”.

Yes, ‘green’ bullets will have a far lower lead content than traditional bullets, because as BAE say… “lead used in ammunition can harm the environment and pose a risk to people.” Blimey! the last thing that you need is a bullet that poses a risk to people.

There are also plans to manufacture quieter warheads, in an effort to reduce noise pollution. So don’t worry if a missile lands on your house, for it won’t disturb the neighbours.

The Ministry of Defence now says that weapons should be “eco-friendly”, and scientists are working on explosives that can be composted if not needed, grenades that produce less harmful smoke and war planes and fighting vehicles with lower carbon emissions.  

Honestly, I’m not making this up.

I wonder if in some future war, sergeant majors will be replaced by ‘health and safety’ inspectors, tanks will be solar powered, and if every box of ammunition  ….

……  will carry a ‘Health Warning’. 

5 Responses to “Eco-friendly fire.”

  1. ginnie said

    “eco-friendly” weapons !!! What will they think of next? I sometimes think I am just dreaming that I live in the world as it is today…I’m sure to wake and find it’s all been a bad dream.

  2. [...] A hilarious post on Big John’s blog about a “new generation of environmentally friendly weapons.” [...]

  3. Mary said

    WOW That’s better then the fanatsy books I enjoy now and then!

  4. gawilli said

    The whole thing just seems rather sad to me. I suppose if we ever did find a way to live in peace, it would be much easier to rid ourselves of the war toys. I know. It’s a fairytale.

  5. [...] green weapons A hilarious post on Big John’s blog about a “new generation of environmentally friendly weapons.” [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

