bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • August 2006
    M T W T F S S
        Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

My ‘Victorian’ Grandad.

Posted by Big John on August 19, 2006

During the recent disruption in my house I had cause to climb into the attic for the first time in years and discovered a box containing a wonderful collection of old postcards and a few family photographs, one of which is this picture g-d-new.jpgof my grandfather taken in the 1940s (Note the wartime ‘blackout’ blind at the window). The object hanging on the wall to his right is an old fashioned carpet beater.

I remember very little about my grandfather as I was fairly young when he died. I do however remember him sitting up in bed when he was very ill and teaching me how to hand roll a cigarette; which sums him up rather nicely as he was a very keen ‘backy’ and beer man. 

In the 1901 census he is recorded as a sixteen year old ‘labourer printer’. He remained in the print industry all his working life. He must have married rather young as my mother was his first child and she was born in 1904. She was followed by a further nine children.

He may not have been the last of a ‘breed’ but he was very much the working class ‘Victorian’ husband. He provided for his large family, but apart from that, his life seems to have revolved around his mates and the local pub. 

As well as looking after ten children my grandmother ‘waited on him hand and foot’. She even laid out his clothes and polished his boots. To repay her he would stagger back from the pub wearing those same boots and leave his muddy footprints all over her……

……… freshly scrubbed floor and ‘hearthstoned’ doorstep.

5 Responses to “My ‘Victorian’ Grandad.”

  1. Jeremy said

    My Garnddad was a backy and beer man too: which is perhaps why he only lived to 54, more’s the pity.
    Good post.

  2. Terri said

    Great post, John. I love reading old memories.
    And I especially loved seeing those black-out curtains. I’d sure heard plenty about them, but had never actually seen any.
    Your granddad was quite the distinguised looking gent, wasn’t he? Probably all thanks to your grandmother and her good care.

  3. Betty said

    I enjoyed reading about your grandfather, John. In the course of my genealogical searching, I recently discovered that my grandmother was born in Middleborough, and her father was an iron worker. So interesting, this family search!

  4. mick in the uk said

    Nice place you have here John.
    It looks much more proffesional than the old place.

  5. Terri said

    Came by looking for a new post, but alas, there’s none.
    I DID just change your new URL on my blog, so we’re all set.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

